Mar 23, 2020 / Spotlight

Get to Know our Staff: Rachel Culbertson, Orthopedics

Header image: Rachel pictured on the right

What is your role at Scottish Rite for Children? 
I am a nurse coordinator for Dr. Gill and nurse practitioner Diana Halback. A normal day for me includes prepping and running clinic two to three times per week, patient and family phone calls and helping out in other areas around the Frisco campus, as needed.
 
What do you enjoy most about Scottish Rite?
I love the mission and values of Scottish Rite. I enjoy seeing the organization do everything possible to live out the mission of giving kids back their childhood. And the people are amazing - I have never worked with a more generous, kind-hearted, family-oriented group.
 
What was your first job? Why did you decide to do the work you are doing now? How long have you worked here? 
My very first job was working at Paint N Party, where kids are able to paint their own plaster art pieces.

When I was 11 years old, my younger brother had to be in the NICU for a period of time. I remember being really worried and scared because of all the machines and wires. A nurse let me help change one of his diapers and I was able to put my hands through the incubator holes. I will never forget how doing something so small made such a big impact on me. That is when I realized I wanted to be a nurse. I have been here for just over two years, but I have been a nurse for seven years. Prior to working at Scottish Rite, I worked in the pediatric ICU at Medical City Children’s Dallas.
 
What’s the coolest or most interesting thing you’re working on right now?
At work, I’m learning how to cast clubfeet (it is definitely an art)! At home, I am working on refinishing an old piece of furniture. 
 
What are you currently watching on Netflix?
The Great British Baking Show
 
What would be the most amazing adventure to go on?
I would love to go backpacking through Europe. 
 
What are some small things that make your day better?
Coffee and laughter with friends. 
 
What is special about the place you grew up?
I grew up in Plano, TX, and I think the most special thing about it is that the majority of my family still lives in the area and I am able to see them regularly. 
 
What is your favorite thing to do when you’re not working? 
My favorite thing to do is to take my 85 lb. German Shepherd to different parks or trails in the DFW area. She is basically a big teddy bear! 
Tags:

You May Also Like: