Courtney Warren

Jun 22, 2020 / Spotlight

Get to Know our Staff: Courtney Warren, Physical Therapy

What is your role at Scottish Rite for Children? 
I am an outpatient physical therapist in the Orthopedic department at the Frisco campus. I evaluate and treat children and adolescents with musculoskeletal, neurologic and rheumatologic conditions through specialized exercises, activities and other techniques. I work with many specific populations including patients with scoliosis, amputations, birth defects and acquired injuries. My goal is to figure out physical barriers that may keep a child from their goals and then design treatment to improve or adapt those barriers in order to achieve their highest level of function.   
 
What do you enjoy most about Scottish Rite?
I enjoy working with the large variety of patients that Scottish Rite treats. This includes a wide spectrum of age, level of function and even nationalities. People come from all over to be treated here. 
 
I also really enjoy the fact that the staff are here to do what is best for the patients and everyone works hard to make sure finances or other barriers do not restrict treatment. 
 
What was your first job? What path did you take to get here?
My first official job was working at a grocery store when I was a teenager. I had odd jobs all throughout high school and college. My path to becoming an employee at Scottish Rite is kind of interesting. My mother began working as a surgical nurse in Dallas when I was just 3 years old, so I grew up attending holiday parties and staff picnics. I eventually became a junior volunteer, a shadow student and then completed my final clinical rotation for physical therapy school - all at Scottish Rite. It was my first job out of school, and I have been here six years now. 
 
I can actually remember the exact day and specific patient I was observing at Scottish Rite when I decided I wanted to be a physical therapist. I was 14 years old and I never changed my mind! 
 
What’s the coolest or most interesting thing you’re working on right now?
I completed my first level certification in the BSPTS Schroth based method for the treatment of adolescent idiopathic scoliosis in 2018 and I was planning to attend/test for the second level certification this summer. That was put on hold with the current events, but I’m hoping to complete it soon. 
 
What are you currently watching on Netflix/Hulu/TV/etc.? 
In our home, Daniel Tiger or Sesame Street is usually playing (I have a 2-year-old), but I recently started watching The Amazing Race series and have enjoyed seeing the world travels, even just by TV screen. 
 
What would be the most amazing adventure to go on?
When I was younger, I always wanted to run a race on every continent. So far, I have done two - North America and Europe. I would love to check off more! 
 
What are some small things that make your day better?
At work, I really enjoying watching a child reach a goal or come back for a social visit when they have been discharged for a while. Seeing/hearing children doing what they love is the best!
 
At home, there is nothing better than my son running up to hug me and tell me about his day when I get home. 
 
What is special about the place you grew up?
I grew up in Wylie, Texas. We have a bit of an unusual motto, “AHMO”, that originated from a Dean Martin comedy roast. It means a lot of different things to different people and can be found literally all over the town. 
 
What is your favorite thing to do when you’re not working? 
I can be found doing lots of things to stay active. Running, playing soccer and keeping up with my son are just a few of my favorite things!

You May Also Like: