Megan Trevino

Jan 20, 2020 / Therapy Services

Get to Know our SRH Staff: Megan Trevino, Therapy Services

What is your role at the hospital? What do you do on a daily basis? 
I am a physical therapist (PT). For my first two years at the hospital, I primarily worked with inpatients and I have since transitioned to mainly seeing outpatients. After performing an initial evaluation, I determine a treatment plan that focuses on improving each patient’s functional deficits through exercises, hands-on techniques and education. My daily schedule looks different every day. I work with patients learning to use prostheses, patients who toe walk and need serial casting, patients with injuries and/or pain and patients who need more specific therapy after surgery.
 
What do you enjoy most about Scottish Rite Hospital?
I love the collaborative approach we have here. I get to work with some of the most creative and intelligent people I have ever met. If I don’t have the answer or solution, there’s a strong likelihood I am able to collaborate with someone in our community that can help. It’s a great feeling to know that every employee has the same goal of providing the best patient care and experience possible.
 
What was your first job? What path did you take to get here? How long have you worked here?
My first job was working at a preschool summer camp from the time I was 14 until I was in college. I first learned about Scottish Rite Hospital when I volunteered one summer during college. From that point on, my goal was to one day be a PT here. I obtained my bachelor’s degree from the University of Oklahoma (Boomer Sooner!) in 2014 and started PT school that July. I completed my last clinical affiliation at the hospital in the spring of 2017 (Brenda House was my clinical instructor). I graduated with my Doctor of Physical Therapy from Lynchburg College in May of 2017, passed my national board exam in July and began working at the hospital in August. I’ve been able to live out my dream and work here for almost three years.
 
What’s the coolest or most interesting thing you’re working on right now?
My fiancé and I are planning our wedding!
 
What are you currently watching on Netflix?
I am currently way too invested in a show called You on Netflix. However, I recently got Disney+ and am also spending entirely too much time reliving my childhood through Lizzie McGuire and classic Disney Channel movies.   
 
Who would you most like to swap places with for a day?
My dog, Cooper. He’s a Vizsla and has the quirkiest personality.
 
What is a fun or interesting fact about your hometown?
I am a Dallas native. According to Google, 7-Eleven originated in Dallas. Who doesn’t love a refreshing Slurpee?
 
What is your favorite thing to do when you’re not working?
I enjoy spending time with my family. I have three younger sisters (ages 15-25), so there is no shortage of shenanigans when we are all together!

You May Also Like: