Cecilia Concha

Mar 16, 2020 / Spotlight

Get to Know our Staff: Cecilia Concha, Orthotics & Prosthetics

What is your role at the hospital? 
My primary role as a certified prosthetic-orthotic practitioner (CPO) is to evaluate, recommend, provide and maintain orthotic and prosthetic devices to patients referred by our medical and clinical staff. This includes devices such as scoliosis braces, knee, ankle foot orthosis (KAFOs or AFOs), sports injury braces, such as knee braces and prosthetic limbs.
 
What do you enjoy most about Scottish Rite for Children?
I love working directly with our patients and their families to help the patient get back to their maximum potential. Being able to witness a child return to the sport they love, walk more independently or prevent the need for future scoliosis surgery due to scoliosis brace management makes everything worthwhile.
  
What was your first job? Why did you decide to do the work you are doing now OR what path did you take to get here? How long have you worked here?
My first job was working at Scottish Rite in the Research department as a co-op student in the Gait Lab in 1988. I completed my bioengineering degree and worked in the Movement Science department for 10 years. My professional journey led me back to Scottish Rite once I pursued a second career in O&P and I came back as a full-time employee in 2007. I have been practicing as a CPO in the Orthotics & Prosthetic department for 14 years.
 
What’s the coolest or most interesting thing you’re working on right now?
It is hard to pin down one particular project because many of the devices we make are so unique and specific to our patient’s needs. I am always gratified when I provide the best brace or prosthesis that will improve our patient’s lives in a positive way.
 
What are you currently watching on Netflix?
Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee
 
What would be the most amazing adventure to go on?
I would love to go on a scuba diving trip to Belize or Thailand.
 
What are some small things that make your day better?
I love that my work environment is bright and sunny - both literally and figuratively.
 
What is special about the place you grew up?
I grew up in El Paso and I miss seeing the most spectacular sunsets.
 
What is your favorite thing to do when you’re not working? 
I mostly spend time with my husband and family. We enjoy taking long bicycle adventures around the city.

You May Also Like: