Erin in front of painting

Jan 25, 2021 / Rheumatology

Get to Know our Staff: Erin Orwat, Rheumatology

What is your role at Scottish Rite for Children? 
I am a nurse coordinator in the Rheumatology department in Frisco and work with patients in our clinic as well as with infusion therapy. In additional to getting patients ready to see the doctor and taking of care of patients while they are getting infusions, I do a lot of education with parents and kids about their diagnosis and how to manage their various medications at home - like shots. I also spend a lot of time working with insurance companies to get medications approved for our patients. 

What led you to Scottish Rite? How long have you worked here? 
I’ve been at Scottish Rite for the past two years. I was lucky enough to have experience working with these types of patients in the past, both in an outpatient clinic as well as inpatient on a nephrology floor, so this was a great opportunity for me when the Frisco campus opened!

What do you enjoy most about Scottish Rite for Children?
So much! I love seeing our patients get better. They can come to us after being in years of pain or not being able to walk or turn their head. With the right treatment they can get back to being a kid again!

Also, I really love working with an organization that cares for all patients, even those who don’t have the ability to pay. It speaks volumes about the organization, and you can really feel that this value is shared through all levels of the staff. 
What was your first job? What path did you take to get here?
My first job was babysitting. My first real job was a cashier at Garden Ridge.  

For many years, I thought I wanted to be an elementary school teacher. When I was 17, I taught a class at my church for about 20 students. I then discovered that I enjoyed working with kids one on one or in small group, instead of in a large group. Biology/A&P were my favorite subjects in school, therefore pediatric nursing was a natural fit for me!  

What do you like to do in your spare time?
I like to be outside. Hiking when we are on vacation or just walking our dog around the neighborhood. I also love going to musicals and concerts, so I’m really looking forward to that when COVID is over! 

What’s something—big or small—that you’re really good at?
I like to think I’m pretty good at crocheting. It’s a hereditary skill. I can pretty much follow most patterns, but I like to stick to small projects like baby or little kid hats. 

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
A ballerina. I spent a lot of time on my tip toes.

What’s one hobby you’d love to get into?
Knitting. It’s crocheting’s twin! Plus, I already have the yarn. 

What’s the first concert you ever went to?
When I really think about it, maybe the jazz group, One O’Clock Lab Band at UNT.  

You May Also Like: