Feb 10, 2022 / Clubfoot & Foot Disorders

Get to Know our Staff: Diana Halback, M.S.N., CPNP, RNFA

What is your job title/your role at Scottish Rite for Children?  
I am a pediatric nurse practitioner in the Orthopedic department in Frisco. I have been working as a pediatric orthopedic nurse practitioner for the last 15 years.

What do you do on a daily basis or what sort of duties do you have at work? 
I see many patients on my own and also work side-by-side with Dr. Gill. I care for patients who have many different types of pediatric orthopedic conditions. I especially love to work with families of newborns to help them learn about a diagnosis, such as developmental dysplasia of the hip or clubfeet. I assist Dr. Gill with the clubfoot clinic, general orthopedic clinic and prosthesis clinic, and assist in the operating room. 

What was your first job?
My first job out of nursing school was as a trauma ICU nurse at a local pediatric level 1 trauma center in 2002. During my master’s program, I continued working there and was able to do clinical hours with Chuck Wyatt, a pediatric nurse practitioner in orthopedic surgery. We saw patients in the emergency department, inpatient and intensive care units, operating room and a very busy outpatient clinic.

What path did you take to get here or what led you to Scottish Rite? How long have you worked here?
In 2007, I joined an orthopedic nurse practitioner team at another pediatric hospital. I left that hospital in 2016 and began working with Dr. Gill in private practice. I was fortunate to start my career at Scottish Rite in 2019.  

What do you enjoy most about Scottish Rite?
The people. I truly enjoy my job and the people I am fortunate enough to work with. 

Tell us something about your job that others might not already know. 
I work in the operating room with Dr. Gill as his “first assist.” I have additional training and certification as a registered nurse first assist (RNFA). This training and experience is fascinating to me and helps me provide great care to my patients.

Where is the most interesting place you’ve been?
I have been a part of several different medical mission trips to Haiti. We were able to provide pediatric medical care in an area where medical facilities and homes had been destroyed by earthquakes. 

If you could be on a gameshow, which one would it be and why?
Supermarket Sweep because it was awesome. 

What’s one fun fact about yourself? 
I love spending time with my husband and kids. Much of that time is spent watching our children play sports. My 8-year old daughter plays academy soccer and basketball, and my 6-year old son plays football, basketball, soccer, hockey and baseball.

You May Also Like: